No Fees Unless We Win   206-919-3215
Issaquah Uninsured and Underinsured Accident Attorney
Like most states, Washington operates on a fault-based system when it comes to car accidents. State law requires all drivers to carry minimum amounts of liability insurance, which pays for victims’ losses in the event of a car accident. However, not all drivers uphold these requirements—leaving their victims without a clear pathway to compensation after a collision.
In these situations, the Issaquah uninsured and underinsured accident lawyer at Colburn Law can help. Our attorney will help you identify your optimal path to recovery and guide you through each stage of the litigation process, advocating aggressively for your maximum compensation.
Why Choose Us
- Our Issaquah personal injury attorney has recovered millions of dollars in settlements and jury verdicts on behalf of our clients. We are dedicated to securing your best possible outcome.
- Our firm operates on a contingency fee basis for maximum affordability. If we do not secure compensation in your claim, you will not be charged legal fees.
- Our firm understands the pain that often accompanies a car accident. We will gladly meet you at your home, hospital room, or an alternate location at your convenience.
Washington Car Insurance Requirements
Washington requires all drivers to carry the following minimum amounts of liability insurance.
- $25,000 for injuries or death to one person per accident
- $50,000 for total injuries or death to all people per accident
- $10,000 for damage to anyone else’s property per accident
Drivers can purchase higher amounts of insurance if they choose. They can also purchase additional forms of coverage, such as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which pays for their losses in situations where they are unable to pursue compensation against an at-fault driver.
If you are in an accident with a negligent driver, you can typically recover compensation by filing an insurance claim or lawsuit against him or her. In cases involving an uninsured or underinsured driver, however, an insurance claim is not a viable option.
In these situations, you still have the ability to pursue a personal injury lawsuit against him or her. You can also file a claim against your own insurance policy, as long as you have the appropriate coverage.
What to Do After a Car Accident in Issaquah
The moments after a car accident will be crucial for your future claim. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, take the following steps to gather evidence and seek the help you need.
- Call 911 and report the accident to law enforcement. Collect the responding officer’s contact information to find the police report at a later date.
- Seek medical attention as soon as possible and save all records related to your treatment and injuries. Always seek treatment, even if you feel uninjured.
- Speak to witnesses at the scene and gather their contact information.
- Speak to the at-fault driver and collect his or her name and contact details. Keep your interaction brief and do not make any statements about your injuries or the accident.
- Document evidence at the scene. Take as many photographs and videos as possible of your injuries, property damage, and the area around the scene.
- Contact an attorney at Colburn Law to discuss your case and legal options
Contact Colburn Law Today
If you are injured in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, you still have options for compensation. Contact Colburn Law today to schedule your free consultation and discuss your legal options with an Issaquah uninsured and underinsured accident lawyer.