No Fees Unless We Win   206-919-3215
Seattle Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer
Washington State suffers greatly from drunk driving accidents. The state reported 278 deaths because of impaired drivers in 2016. Half of the state’s roadway fatalities involve an intoxicated driver. In 2017, Washington police made 25,619 impaired driver arrests.
If a drunk driving accident injured you or took the life of someone you love, discuss your options with Colburn Law. We founded our firm on a passionate desire to help victims of negligence. We can help your family fight back against reckless drunk drivers.
We Know How To Recover Damages After an Accident
The attorneys at Colburn Law are passionate about advocating for the rights of those injured or killed in drunk driving accidents. If you wish to learn more about your rights, sign up for a free consultation with one of our local lawyers. Contact us online or call 206-919-3215 today.
- We believe in aggressive settlement negotiations. In a case against a drunk driver, we will aggressively defend your rights and fight to hold the reckless driver accountable. Our attorneys can get the best possible results for your claim.
- We have a history of success. At Colburn Law, we focus on the future – not the past. Still, if you want verification of our firm’s talents, review our past case results. We have obtained six-and seven-figure results for our clients.
- We understand how to navigate the state’s laws. Our attorneys know the state’s driving under the influence (DUI) laws and how these criminal and civil cases work. We can navigate the law in a way that helps you.
Hire a DUI Accident Attorney
Drunk driving accidents are often considered catastrophic injuries. Drunk drivers may not be in control of their facilities, and may engage in dangerous practices such as speeding, weaving between lanes, and driving the wrong way on the highway. This can lead to extreme collisions and life-threatening personal injuries for victims. If this sounds like your situation, do not risk your financial future by dealing with your claim yourself. Hire an attorney for the professional counsel you need for a stronger claim. An attorney can help you maximize your results.
Washington DUI Laws
It is against the law to operate a vehicle in Washington with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level at or above 0.08% as an adult 21 or older, 0.04% as a commercial driver, and 0.02% as someone under 21. The penalties for breaking the state’s DUI laws can range from 24 hours to four years or longer in jail, as well as fines up to $5,000. If the drunk driver causes personal injuries or deaths, the penalties can be more severe. The driver may face a charge such as vehicular manslaughter, and decades behind bars. The driver could also face civil liability.
Did you sustain injuries or was your loved one killed in a drunk driver crash in King County?
If you or a loved one has suffered injuries caused by a drunk or drugged driver, call the drunk driving collision attorneys at Colburn Law today. The state will prosecute a drunk driver for his or her crimes. It is up to you and your attorney, however, to present a civil case against the driver for the damages he or she caused you. You have three years from the date of your accident to file a civil claim against a drunk driver. The clock may begin at the conclusion of a criminal case rather than the date of your accident, in some situations. A civil claim will seek monetary damages from the drunk driver, such as reimbursement for your accident-related medical costs, pain and suffering, lost wages, and/or wrongful death damages.
Contact Our Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers Today at Colburn Law
If you wish to hold a reckless drunk driver responsible for your car accident, you or your attorney must prove fault. This takes establishing, through a preponderance of the evidence, that the DUI driver breached a duty of care to you and caused your car accident. A drunk driving accident lawyer from Colburn Law can help you gather evidence against the driver, such as the results of a breathalyzer test or a police report stating that the officer was aware of the driver’s intoxication. Hiring an attorney can take the burden of proof off you, so you can focus on your personal injuries.